The Barn

Property History

The Wallenpaupack Creek Farm property was originally settled by the Robachers – a German farming family who immigrated to the United States in 1824. In 1829 the Robachers bought a 2100 acre tract of land in the Wallenpaupack Valley and kept the now Wallenpaupack Creek Farm and developed their own homestead. The main barn was constructed circa 1839. Many of the original beams and stonework remains intact almost 200 years later. The farm was passed down from generation to generation in the Robacher family and the farming tradition had continued. Many original structures remain to remind us of the years of hard work the land has witnessed.

The bell at the top of the barn is over 200 years old and was originally atop the South Sterling Methodist Church – just 2 miles from the farm. The church burned down in the 70’s and the bell has found a home on top of the barn and can be rung from inside.

In the winter of 2017, Kelly and Britt worked with a building crew of four guys from Lancaster County to renovate the barn. Prior to the start of construction Kelly and Britt milled all of the lumber for the barn renovation from local hemlock logs using a mobile sawmill. During the building process it was important to preserve as much of the original barn as possible. The majority of the hand-hewn posts and beams that make up the original timber framed barn structure were able to be salvaged and remain standing. The barn received new flooring, siding, windows, roofing, doors and iconic bell tower. It is exciting to see the barn renewed and ready for another 175 years of hosting celebration and agriculture.